Science Fiction Gets To Me More Than Anything

Last week, I went to see Christopher Nolan’s new movie, Interstellar.

It was very beautiful. The scenery, the music and most of all, the concept – a loving father desperately trying to get home to his daughter.

I probably spent half an hour of the movie crying. It did not end there though. I couldn’t get the movie out of my head. I listened to the soundtrack over and over again, reliving parts of the movie. Feeling, once again, that dreadful feeling of being trapped away from your home, and knowing that everyone you loved were moving on, or even worse, not moving on.

I don’t get stuck on regular dramas, not like this. So why is it that science fiction movies have such a huge impact on me?

Perhaps it’s because the author gets to us more quickly by showing us a very exaggerated situation. We have people showing immense amounts of bravery and sacrificing everything they love, like in Cloud Atlas. We have creatures completely helpless and innocent get accused or manipulated, like in I-Robot or Robocop. With a little bit of imagination, we can easily picture ourselves in their situation…

…Stuck in outer space, with limited fuel, and the clock ticking by…

Wow. And to top it all off, the thought of wormholes always terrified me. Just the thought of being sucked away into the unknown. Stuck in an endless void. An alien universe.

I get the shudders just thinking about it…

To end on a more lighthearted note, dear Reader, if you’ve already seen the movie, I highly recommend watching this video. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

